Amazon Pay Per Click helps you increase sales velocity, keep sales momentum or increase your profits. Prior starting your PPC, you need to understand not just Advertising screen under Amazon Seller Central, but core concepts behind.
Here are some key points;
- Sponsored Ad Types
- Campaign Types
- Keyword Targeting
- Search Terms
- Negative Keywords
- Product listing content
- Psychological influencers
- Profits
- Campaign Budget and Bid
Sponsored Ad Types
Consider them as Sweet Spots. Definitely, Amazon made those spots, premium for a reason. Therefore, we will use them to achieve our goals.
- Search Result Page
- Brand Headline ASIN (top & bottom)
- Sponsored Product (top, middle & bottom)
- Product Detail Page
- Brand Ad (below Bullet Points)
- Product Display Ad (below Buy Box)
- Sponsored Product Strip (above review section)
There are few more pages where Amazon display sponsored products like Lightning Deals page.
Campaign Types
There are two types of campaigns, based upon Goals, we use each or both types of campaigns.
- Automatic Campaign: Let Amazon find keywords for you
- Manual Campaign: Dictate Amazon with your own keywords.
Keyword Targeting
The Keyword Targeting define which types of search terms are acceptable. The use depend upon your goal.
- Broad
- Phrase
- Exact
Keyword: mini refrigerator
Regardless of targeting type single/plural, slight-misspelling, helper words like “for” are ignored.
In Automatic Campaigns, we would not provide Keyword Targeting since we do not provide keywords to target and leave everything on Amazon’s algorithm.
Search Terms
These are the words or phrases typed or selected (auto-suggest) by user. Depending upon their type of Keyword Targeting, our product listing may appear in front of them.
These search terms will appear depending upon Broad, Phrase or Exact match keyword targeting. In Automatic Campaign, since we do not provide any keyword, we will have random and wild search terms, regardless of keyword targeting.
Negative Keywords
The keywords, that do not achieve our goal(s) and established as non-worthy after 7 days, its wise to mark them as Negative Keywords.
We can put a keyword as negative at Campaign or Ad set levels.
The negative keyword will also have keyword targeting.
Generally, its a good practice to put keyword as negative in the source campaign or ad set prior moving to next.
Product listing content
The product listing content play an important role. Specifically, automatic campaign decides keywords from main/sub category, title, bullet points, description, backend search & platinum terms and product specifics. Some sellers believe keywords in reviews and EBC/A+ Content also play vital role in automatic keyword discovery.
Psychological influencers
Amazon badges influences buyer decision be it Best Seller or Amazon Choice or New Arrival. The digital coupon and Positive review rating 4.7+ will also put a positive impact on your buyer’s buying decision.
Profits
Particularly in Amazon PPC, profits is not always limited to just monetary value. Impressions, clicks, click-thru-rate (CTR), Conversion Rate (RA), sales etc will aide your decision regarding keeping the keyword or stop it.
ACoS – Advertisement Cost of Advertisement
This is a percentile metric use to find performance of ad spend over Amazon PPC.
ACoS = Ad Spend ÷ Ad Revenue x 100
Suppose, it cost $25 as spending over ad to get orders worth $100. We will find our ACoS as follows;
ACoS = ( $25 ÷ $100 ) x 100
ACoS = 0.25 x 100
ACoS = 25%
What ACoS is good?
Its relative to your goal, but generally, your profit is your target ACoS. This is how you will identify, if your spendings are more.
Campaign Budget and Bid
I would say, start with minimum. Like if your budget is just $10, start just 1 automatic campaign with $10 budget. However, if you have $30 budget, then start 3 automatic campaign. If you want to start manual campaign with your own keywords, then distribute the initial budget into all of your campaigns, $10 each.
Keyword bid should be little over suggested big, because most of the people will be doing the same. In order to be ahead of competition, you should apply $0.02 to $0.03 more than suggested bid.
Amazon Advertising Interface
Get familiar yourself with Amazon Advertising Interface. Play around.
Whats next?
Once you are equipped with basic knowledge you should move to identify your expectations with Amazon PPC, plan your goals.
Best!